2019 Nomination Form

  • 1
    Terms of entry
  • 2
    Applicant details
  • 3
    Award nomination
  • 4
    Terms and Conditions
  • 5
  • 6

The Law Society of NSW's Diversity and Inclusion Committee is proud to oversee and support the 2019 Charter for the Advancement of Women in the Legal Profession Awards.


The Charter for the Advancement of Women in the Legal Profession was launched by the Law Society of NSW in 2016. Signatories of the Charter agree to implement a range of diversity and inclusion principles, strategies to remove gender bias and discrimination within two years of signing, and to implement equal pay for graduates within one year of signing.

The Awards are designed to recognise the efforts of signatories who can demonstrate excellence in implementing strategies and workplace changes relating to the advancement of women in the legal profession.

Charter overview

The Law Society of NSW promotes diversity, equality and inclusion in the legal profession, in particular by developing and progressing initiatives to ensure equality of opportunity for all members of the profession, regardless of race, ethnicity, heritage, gender, age, religion, disability, sexual orientation, gender identity or intersex status. Women make up about 50 per cent of the legal profession, and have made significant advances in all areas of practice. However impediments still remain to the retention and career progression of women in the profession.

The Law Society’s Charter for the Advancement of Women in the Legal Profession is designed to:

  1. promote and support strategies to retain women in the legal profession over the course of their careers; and
  2. encourage and promote their career progression into senior executive and management positions.


The Awards will be presented at the Law Society's Annual Members Dinner on Thursday 24 October 2019.

Who can apply?

The Awards are open to any signatory to the Charter for the Advancement of Women in the Legal Profession. Signatories may self-nominate.
If your organisation has not yet signed the Charter, we invite you to do so here. You may then complete this nomination form.

Award categories

This year there are three Award categories. We invite signatories to choose the category that best describes their organisation when nominating.

  • Large law firm. This includes members of Law Firms Australia.
  • Law practice. Any law firm or legal practice operating in NSW that is not a member of Law Firms Australia. This can include, for example, boutique practices, community legal centres, medium-sized firms, and others.
  • Organisation employing in-house practitioner. Any organisation, either from the government, corporate, or not-for-profit sector, engaging in-house legal practitioners(s).

Key dates

Nominations open on Monday 12 August 2019 and close on Friday 20 September 2019.

Personal Information Collection Notice

The Law Society of New South Wales respects your privacy and the confidentiality and security of personal information provided by you to us. The information provided by you to the Law Society on this form will be used by the Law Society for the purposes of communicating with you in relation to this matter in accordance with our Personal Information Collection Notice.

Further information

For further assistance or information, please contact:

Policy & Practice Department

Diversity and Inclusion Committee

The Law Society of New South Wales

E: aow@lawsociety.com.au